Resources

Research Resources:

  • Magnum Photos, co-founded by CHIM in 1947, remains an important resource.

Magnum database is searchable and has more than 1000 annotated high-resolution images.

Licensing and modern print purchases are handled.  Books and exhibit projects are supported.

Magnum Photos – CHIM Bio and Portfolio 

Telephone +1 212 929 6000 Fax +1 212 929 9325

Most CHIM negatives (35mm Leica and 6 x 6 cm, Rollei) are kept in cold storage. Contact sheet books with historical annotations fill 2-3 shelves.

Archive Manager, Matt Murphy (matt@magnumphotos.com)  

Telephone + 44 20 7490 1771    Fax + 44 20 7608 0020

Telephone + 33 1 53 42 50 00   Fax + 33 1 53 42 50 01

Major center for research, exhibits, and publication for CHIM’s work.

Approx 1000 prints, 17 books of tearsheets, historical letters and recent letters about exhibits.

Curators:  Brian Wallis (bwallis@icp.org), Cynthia Young (cyoung@icp.org), and Ed Earle (edward.earle@icp.org).

http://www.icp.org/chimhttp://www.icp.org/chim/bio 

http://museum.icp.org/mexican_suitcase/gallery_chim.html

Approx 200 prints Curator: Alison Nordstrom (anordstrom@geh.orghttp://chim.eastmanhouse.org/

Press release,  Jan. 8, 2007 –   http://witness.eastmanhouse.org/PressRelease-Seymour.doc

Approx 40 vintage prints and one CHIM portfolio

Curator: Sara Greenough (s-greenough@nga.gov)

NGA CHIM Biography and Images

  • DeYoung: Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, CA

Approx 80 vintage prints

Curators: Bob Futernick (bfuternick@famsf.org), Sarah Taft (staft@famsf.org)

CHIM page

  • Victoria & Albert Museum, London, UK

Approx 30 vintage prints as part of the photojournalism collection

http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/p/photojournalism/

The Victoria and Albert Museum – London, England

Acquired a large collection of vintage and modern prints in 2010 of all Magnum photographers

Press release – February 2, 2010

Ransom Center helps to launch Magnum Photos’s “Postcards From America” tomorrow

  • University of Maryland, Maryland, US

A gallery of works by CHIM

http://www.artgallery.umd.edu/artist/david-seymour

 

Related Photographers:

Related Organizations:

Comments
One Response to “Resources”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] David Seymour official website (by the Estate of David Seymour). It has its own page of additional resources. […]



    • 67,475 hits